The Blue Book is quite clear in stating that if a race is abandoned after the red flag then the result is based on the order of finishing on the last full lap completed and before the race was stopped. Therefore, under the rules that we all sign up to by having the MSA licence it is fair for a driver to be awarded the win even if they are involved in the red flag incident. I was just wondering what would happen if you had a driver in 6th place at the end of (say) lap 17 who makes a great move into the first corner of lap 18 and then pulls a big gap because the other 5 divers get into a fight for position. This driver then completes lap 18 but the next group has a tangle on the last corner of their lap 17 and the red flag immediately comes out. Does the driver get 1st place or 6th place? If he did get 1st place on the basis that the red flag came out when he was on lap 18 but rest of the field were on lap 17 then it would be difficult to sort out the finish order of the other drivers without going back to the order at the end of lap 16 as only the one driver actually completed lap 17. Maybe this would never happen in real life which is why I said this is a purely academic question.
|
|